Healthy Chocolate Chip Banana Bread Oatmeal Cookies

DSC_0218 2

Hello world,

It’s been a while since I posted anything. I’ve just been really busy with school and didn’t feel inspired to pick up my computer and open up my WordPress. But here I am and it’s summer, finally! Summer started last week and since then I seriously haven’t done anything spectacularly, besides an awesome family barbecue. All my friends are on vacation and I’m just laying in my sofa watching tv. But I shouldn’t complain because next week I will be in Italy! I honestly can’t wait!

DSC_0228 2

So yesterday I baked, it’s some kind of occupation therapy ;), healthy chocolate chip banana bread oatmeal cookies. Wawzies that’s on hella long name for just a cookie isn’t it? Since it’s summer, and I’m just like almost every other girl ;), I’m trying to watch what I eat. I’m not dieting at all I’m just trying to get a healthy lifestyle which is very hard, trust me. I wanted to bake but I didn’t want some overly sugared cookies or cupcakes. I had (and still have) some overripe bananas and decided to make a healthier option on chocolate chip cookies. I found this recipe on Amy’s healthy baking. You can go over to her site to find the original recipe + her beautiful pictures of the cookies.

In this post I will show you my adapted recipe.

DSC_0214 2DSC_0224 2

Healthy Chocolate Chip Banana Bread Oatmeal Cookies  

makes about 15 cookies                             

  • 1 cup (100g) oatmeal / instant oats
  • ¾ cup (90g) All purpose flour
  • 1 ½ tsp (4g) baking powder
  • ¼ tsp cinnamon or christmas spices (add more to taste)
  • ⅛ tsp (1g) salt
  • 2 tbsp (28g) coconut oil (or butter), melted
  • ¼ cup (63g) mashed banana
  • 1 tsp (5mL) vanilla extract
  • ¼ cup honey
  • ¼ cup maple syrup
  • Regular chocolate chips (as much as you prefer)
  1. Preheat the oven to 325°F/ 163°C, and line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat.
  2. Wisk together the oatmeal, flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt in a medium bowl. In a separate bowl (I used a KitchenAid), whisk together the coconut oil, mashed banana, and vanilla. Stir in the honey and maple syrup. Add in the flour mixture, stirring just until incorporated.
  3. Drop the cookie dough into 15 rounded scoops onto the prepared sheet, and flatten slightly. Press (to your liking) the chocolate chips in your cookies. I added 3-4 chips to every cookie. Bake at 325°F/163°C for 13-15 minutes. Until the sides look      brown-ish. Cool on the pan for 10 minutes before turning out onto a wire rack.

 

If you make these delicious cookies, tag me in them or just private message me on any social media platform!

Instagram: @hannahvdst

Twitter: @hannahvdst

Hannah out. ❤

Leave a Reply

